You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
McCullough named Brisbane's best

Andrew McCullough picked up his second Paul Morgan Medal after being named the Brisbane Broncos' Player of the Year on Friday night.

McCullough took out the award despite missing the Broncos' finals run because of a serious knee injury.

The club's 2012 Player of the Year had surgery after tearing the ACL in his knee against the Eels in Round 21.

But missing the final five games of the season didn’t make any difference to the Paul Morgan Medal count, after McCullough blew the opposition away in the first six rounds of the season.

He finished on top of the tally with 59 votes.

In the chasing pack was a trio of forwards, led by international Matt Gillett on 44 points.

Origin forward Josh McGuire was a point further back on 43 points, while the ever-present Alex Glenn finished on 40 points.

Captain Darius Boyd, the 2016 Paul Morgan Medal winner, finished fifth with 33 points.


Broncos 2017 award winners
NYC Best Back: Kotoni Staggs
NYC Best Forward: Payne Haas
NYC Players' Player: Patrick Carrigan
NYC Player of the Year: Patrick Carrigan
NRL Most Consistent: Alex Glenn
Play of the Year: Matt Gillett
NRL Best Back: Darius Boyd
NRL Best Forward: Matt Gillett
Clubman of the Year: Adam Walsh
NRL Players' Player: Andrew McCullough and Josh McGuire 
NRL Player of the Year: Andrew McCullough


Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners