You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Valentine’s night at Monty Porter awards

Valentine Holmes was the big winner at The Star in Sydney when he walked away with the two major awards at the Sharks Monty Porter Medal awards night.

Holmes beat out teammates and fellow nominees Chad Townsend, Matt Moylan and Andrew Fifita to claim the Monty Porter Medal as Pontifex Player of the Year, while he also earned the respect of his peers in being named the Tommy Bishop Player's Player.

In scooping the pool for the NRL awards, Holmes was also chosen as the Member's Player of the Year.
Other major awards on the night went to Jesse Ramien as the Steve Rogers Rookie of the Year, with Edrick Lee winning the Sharks Support Community award and the NRL Wellbeing & Education Excellence accolade for his work with indigenous youth.

Matt Prior, Holmes and Townsend were singled out as Sharks 'Ironmen' with the trio playing all NRL games which they were available during the 2018 season, an individual effort scored by Jesse Ramien in round 11, was chosen the Try of the Year.

Celebrating their Jersey Flegg Grand Final success, Sharks under-20's half back Braydon Trindall took out the Gavin Miller Player of the Year award, fullback Luke Polselli the Greg Pierce Player's Player.
Both players were instrumental in the Sharks outstanding season and in their Grand Final victory over the Panthers.

Hard running forward Monty Raper added to his accomplishments on the field with a high standard of study and work away from it, named the Jersey Flegg Wellbeing & Education Excellence award winner for 2018.

And in perhaps the most popular award amongst the Sharks playing group, club physiotherapist Sam Madden was the Andrew Ettingshausen Club Person of the Year.

The Awards Night was held at The Star Casino in Sydney, with all the winners listed below.

Monty Porter Medal - Award winners 

Monty Porter Medallist
Winner - Valentine Holmes
Nominees - Chad Townsend, Matt Moylan, Andrew Fifita, Valentine Holmes

Tommy Bishop Players Player - Valentine Holmes

Steve Rogers Rookie of the Year- Jesse Ramien

Sharks Support Community Award - Edrick Lee

Members Player of the Year - Valentine Holmes

Jersey Flegg
Gavin Miller Player of the Year - Braydon Trindall

Jersey Flegg
Greg Pierce Players Player - Luke Polselli

NRL Iron Man (played all games for which they were available)
Matt Prior
Chad Townsend
Valentine Holmes

Try of the Year – Jesse Ramien, round 11 v Bulldogs

Jersey Flegg
Wellbeing & Education Excellence
- Monty Raper

NRL Wellbeing & Education Excellence - Edrick Lee

Andrew Ettingshausen Club Person of the Year - Sam Madden


Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners