You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
South Sydney and England star Sam Burgess.

England coach Wayne Bennett has confirmed Sam Burgess will miss the upcoming Test campaign against New Zealand with wrist and shoulder injuries.

Bennett confirmed to Burgess will not travel to the UK despite naming the 29-year-old in a 24-man squad earlier in the week.

The Rabbitohs skipper requires surgery in preparation for the 2019 season with Bennett set to name a replacement in the coming weeks.

Burgess has endured a difficult period over the past month after nude photos were posted on his social media account. He was subsequently cleared by an investigation and has indicated he may take legal action over the matter.

"I'm gutted that I have had to withdraw from these matches as I love playing for my country and it is a great honour," Burgess said in a club statement later on Friday.

"The reality of the situation is that it's imperative that I get these surgeries done, and with a view to the next three or four years, I need to get them done now.

"I'll be watching on from Australia and cheering on England against France and New Zealand, and I'm sure the team will do England proud."

England will play three Tests against New Zealand in October and November after taking on France on October 17.

Sam's brothers Tom and George have been named in the squad, with George recalled to the international scene after missing last year's Rugby League World Cup.

Other NRL stars in the squad include Raiders pair Josh Hodgson, Elliott Whitehead and Dragons prop James Graham.

Dragons teammate Gareth Widdop will miss the campaign with a season-ending shoulder injury.

Squad: John Bateman (Wigan), George Burgess (South Sydney) Tom Burgess (South Sydney), Daryl Clark (Warrington), Jake Connor (Hull), Luke Gale (Castleford), James Graham (St George Illawarra), Joe Greenwood (Wigan), Chris Hill (Warrington), Josh Hodgson (Canberra), Tom Johnstone (Wakefield), Jonny Lomax (St Helens), Reece Lyne (Wakefield), Tommy Makinson (St Helens), Jermaine McGillvary (Huddersfield), Adam Milner (Castleford), Sean O'Loughlin (Wigan), Mark Percival (St Helens), Stefan Ratchford (Warrington), Luke Thompson (St Helens), Sam Tomkins (Wigan), Elliott Whitehead (Canberra), George Williams (Wigan).

What could be the story of the off-season?

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners