You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Gerard Sutton and Ashley Klein will referee the 2019 Holden State of Origin I at Suncorp Stadium on Wednesday, June 5.

The referees appointments committee also selected Chris Butler and Nick Beashel as touch judges for the match, while Jared Maxwell (Senior Review Official) and Ben Galea (Review Official) will operate the NRL Bunker.

"Origin is one of the toughest and most intense events in world sport, and it demands match officials with vast experience to ensure the players are given every possible chance to perform at their best," NRL Head of Football Elite Competitions Graham Annesley said.

"I congratulate those appointed to control the game, and know they will do everything within their power to contribute to another great Origin spectacle."

The match will be Sutton's 14th consecutive State of Origin match, dating back to Game Three in 2014, while it will be Klein's sixth Origin match, Beashel's 10th and Butler's fifth.

"All of our officials, but particularly the two referees, are experienced in big games," General Manager Elite Officiating Bernard Sutton said.

"The two referees officiated in the three Origins last year, as well as the Grand Final.

"It's clear they have the experience required to officiate on the biggest stage, and they have refereed well as a partnership."

The match officials for first Holden State of Origin match, on June 5, are:

Referee: Gerard Sutton

Assistant Referee: Ashley Klein

Senior Review Official: Jared Maxwell

Review Official: Ben Galea

Touch Judges: Chris Butler, Nick Beashel

Standby Referee: Ben Cummins

Standby Touch Judge: Chris Sutton

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners