2019 NRLW signings: Contracts, gains and losses for all clubs

St George Illawarra have confirmed nine signings for the 2019 NRL Holden Women's Premiership which includes former Sydney Roosters halfback Maddie Studdon

Studdon, who was restricted to just two appearances for the Tricolours last season due to form, will join the Red V along with new faces Tiana Penitani, Botille Vette-Welsh, Shaylee Bent and Takilele Katoa.

The club have also confirmed the return of Kezie Apps, Jessica Sergis, Shakiah Tungai and recent Australian Jillaroos debutant Holli Wheeler.

"It's a great way to get the ball rolling for the Dragons ahead of the second season of the Women's Premiership," Dragons coach Daniel Lacey said. 

"There's been a lot of hard work done behind the scenes with more time and preparation. We as a staff had a clear mind of what the squad needed to look like as a result."

Elsewhere, Brisbane will welcome home local product Annette Brander for this year's NRLW season after the back-rower agreed to terms with the club on Thursday. 

Brander lives in Brisbane and relocated to Wollongong during last year's four-week season while taking time off work as a legal assistant. 

Her signature is a major boost for the Broncos, who have announced a further nine signings over the last week. 

The defending champions will welcome back inaugural players Ali Brigginshaw, Chelsea Baker, Steph Hancock, Heather Ballinger, Meg Ward, Rona Peters and Amber Pilley, while Tarryn Aiken and Amber Hall are among the fresh faces.

Meanwhile, the Roosters and Warriors are expected to begin announcing their rosters in the coming weeks with contract negotiations underway. 

NRL Holden Women's Premiership

The second Holden NRL Women's Premiership kicks off in September aligned with the men's finals series.

Rule changes to recruitment and retention for the 2019 season have been confirmed.

Under a new cap system, points will be awarded to players for Test and State of Origin appearances, representing the Prime Minister’s XIII or playing at the National Championships.

Each club will be allowed to sign 22 players whose value totals a minimum of 120 points and a maximum of 160 points, with a player worth:

  • 10 points if they played for the Jillaroos or Kiwi Ferns;
  • 8 points if they played State of Origin for NSW or Queensland;
  • 4 points if they represented the PM’s XIII against the PNG Orchids in Port Morseby, and;
  • 3 points if they played at the National Championships.

With the NRLW competition in just its second year, points will be allocated for representative achievements for last season only.


Brisbane Broncos


Chelsea Baker, Heather Ballinger, Ali Brigginshaw, Steph Hancock, Rona Peters, Amber Pilley, Meg Ward.


Annette Brander (St George Illawarra Dragons), Amber Hall, Tarryn Aiken.


Caitlin Moran (released)


Ngatokotoru Araku, Brittany Breayley, Maitua Feterika, Jayme Fressard, Teuila Fotu-Moala, Tallisha Harden, Kody House, Amelia Kuk, Chelsea Lenarduzzi, Lilieta Manumau, Taylor Mapusua, Kimiora Nati, Mariah Storch, Karley Te Kawa, Julia Robinson. 

St George Illawarra Dragons


Kezie Apps, Jessica Sergis, Shakiah Tungai, Holli Wheeler.


Maddie Studdon (Sydney Roosters), Botille Vette-Welsh (Sydney Roosters), Shaylee Bent, Takilele Katoa.


Annette Brander (Brisbane Broncos), Sam Bremner (pregnancy).


Talia Atfield, Georgina Brooker, Teina Clark, Keeley Davis, Kate Haren, Honey Hireme, Rikeya Horne, Melanie Howard, Asoiva Karpani, Asipau Mafi, Raecene McGregor, Talesha Quinn, Oneata Schwalger, Anneka Stephens, Hannah Southwell, Josie Strong.

Sydney Roosters


The Roosters will begin to confirm their signings from mid-June. 



Nakia Davis-Welsh (pregnancy), Taleena Simon (pregnancy), Maddie Studdon (St George Illawarra Dragons), Botille Vette-Welsh (St George Illawarra Dragons).


Karina Brown, Chloe Caldwell, Vanessa Foliaki, Tazmin Gray, Kylie Hilder, Isabelle Kelly, Kandy Kennedy, Victoria Latu, Nita Maynard, Sharon McGrady, Corban McGregor, Lavina O'Mealey, Brydie Parker, Ruan Sims, Shontelle Stowers, Zahara Temara, Simaima Taufa, Sarah Togatuki, Elianna Walton.

New Zealand Warriors


The Warriors will begin to confirm their signings soon. 




Raquel Anderson-Pitman, Sarina Clark, Lisa Edwards, Luisa Gago, Georgia Hale, Amber Kani, Onjeurlina Leiataua, Hilda Mariu, Laura Mariu, Va'anessa Molia-Fraser, Apii Nicholls, Tanika-Jazz Noble-Bell, Annetta-Claudia Nuuausala, Lorina Papali'i, Kahurangi Peters, Krystal Rota, Aieshaleigh Smalley, Masuisuimatamaalii (Sui) Tauasa-Pauaraisa, Crystal Tamarua, Alice Vailea, Langi Veainu, Shontelle Woodman.

Latest news

Catch up with the latest news ahead of the second NRLW season.