You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Old rivals to kick off World Nines tournament

Traditional rivals will bump heads in a spectacular opening night of matches of the Downer World Nines in October.

Australia will face New Zealand in both men's and women's games, while England take on Wales, Tonga meets the Cook Islands, and Samoa prepares for one of the tournament favourites, Fiji.

And that's just some of the mouth-watering contests scheduled for Friday, October 18 at Bankwest Stadium. An opening ceremony will be held at 6pm before kick-off in the first of 28 games on the two-day program - France v Lebanon at 6.20pm.

The following day will feature two Australian men's and women's Nines teams double-headers, while the stands will shake when Samoa and Tonga start their cultural dances ahead of their meeting. 

That's all part of nine hours of action on Saturday with all teams - 12 men's and four women's - playing a minimum of two games.

The two men's semi-finals will be held at 6.55pm and 7.20pm before the women's final at 7.45pm and the men's final at 9pm.

The NRL will release tickets for individual days for club ticketed members on Monday, August 5, from 10am.

Supporters can attend Friday's matches from $30 for adults and $80 for families, while tickets are available for Saturday's games, including the finals, from $49 (adults) and $135 (families).

Single day-pass general public tickets will be available from Wednesday, August 7, at 10am.

World Cup 9s launch

Fans can take advantage of dedicated team-specific supporter sections, with a flag included in the ticket purchase.

"This tournament is all about entertainment – fans can see some of the best players involved in more than 12 hours of action-packed rugby league across the two days," said NRL Chief Commerical Officer Andrew Abdo.

"Having the traditional rivalries of Australia-New Zealand and Tonga-Samoa among other great clashes will be enthralling viewing during the pool stages.

"The rivalries, the men's and women's doubleheaders, the colour of the competing fans, will give us wonderful entertainment."

Group A includes Australia, New Zealand, PNG and USA; Group B will include England, France, Lebanon and Wales; while Group C features Tonga, Samoa, Fiji and Cook Islands.

The two highest-placed teams from Group A will progress to the semi-finals alongside the winners of Groups B and C.

The two highest-placed teams from the women’s pool, which features Australia, New Zealand, England and PNG, will fight out the women's final.

"The excitement is building for this magnificent event, watching our finest international athletes compete at this super-charged form of rugby league is too good to miss," said RLIF Southern Hemisphere General Manager, Jeremy Edwards.


Tickets are available at

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners