You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Mal Meninga coached the Maroons in a golden era of Origin success.

On this day, Mal Meninga gets a huge vote of confidence as Maroons coach, St George's Michael Potter takes home the Dally M and 'Teddy' is crowned Players' Champion. 


Michael Potter accepts the gold Dally M award at the Sebel Town House. Warren Ryan is named coach of the year and Balmain five-eighth Will Robinson is the rookie of the year.


Wally Lewis stands down as coach of the Gold Coast Seagulls. The Maroons and Kangaroos legend claims the internal rifts at the club are irreparable.


Canterbury continue their stunning charge for the grand final with a 28-16 defeat of Newcastle in extra-time at the Sydney Football Stadium. “The gutsiest performance I’ve ever been involved with,” says coach Steve Folkes.

The Bulldogs went on an emotional charge through the 1988 finals.
The Bulldogs went on an emotional charge through the 1988 finals.


St George Illawarra prop Luke Bailey withdraws from the Kangaroo tour because of a degenerative ear condition requiring surgery.


NRL officials work overtime in an attempt to transfer the Broncos-Cowboys semi-final from Suncorp Stadium to Townsville’s Dairy Farmers Stadium after Brisbane coach Wayne Bennett and chief executive Bruno Cullen give the move the green light. Conflicting alcohol sponsorships prove the major stumbling block, but the change of venue is made official within 24 hours.


A war of words erupts between semi-final combatants Melbourne and North Queensland over the use of the “grapple tackle” with both clubs accusing each other of continuing to use the controversial hold. Melbourne later release video of 20 incidents in which they claim North Queensland players were putting rival players in headlocks.


The QRL sign Mal Meninga to an unprecedented three-year deal to coach the Maroons State of Origin side.


Canterbury second-rower Josh Jackson is awarded the Brad Fittler Medal as the NSW Players’ Player in the 2016 State of Origin series.

2017 Players' Champion James Tedesco.
2017 Players' Champion James Tedesco. ©Grant Trouville/NRL Photos


Wests Tigers fullback James Tedesco takes out the Players' Champion title at the RLPA gala awards night. Other winners included James Maloney (Dennis Tutty award for contribution as an advocate) and Nick Cotric (rookie of the year).


This article contains information from the official records of NRL historian David Middleton.


Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners