You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Justin Olam and Rhyse Martin are key men for PNG.

Storm centre Justin Olam, Broncos hooker James Segeyaro, Roosters halfback Lachlan Lam and former Canterbury second-rower Rhyse Martin headline the PNG Kumuls team for the World Cup Nines at Bankwest Stadium on October 18-19.

Papua New Guinea is the first of the 12 nations competing in the tournament to announce their 16-strong men’s and women’s squads ahead of a training camp next week.

The Kumuls squad includes Olam, Segeyaro, Lam, Roosters team-mate Bernard Lewis and Cowboys centre Daniel Russell, while former North Queensland playmaker Kyle Laybutt has also been named along with Martin, who now plays for Leeds in the Super League.

Watson Boas and Stargroth Amean will also return from England, where they play for Barrow Raiders, with the majority of the Michael Marum-coached squad being drawn from Queensland’s Intrust Super Cup.

The Kumuls have been drawn in Pool A of the tournament, alongside Australia, New Zealand and USA.

England, France, Lebanon and Wales make up Pool B while Pool C comprises Tonga, Cook Islands, Fiji and Samoa.

PNG hooker James Segeyaro.
PNG hooker James Segeyaro. ©Robb Cox/NRL Photos

Only four nations – Australia, New Zealand, England and PNG – are taking part in the World Cup Nines women’s tournament.

Most of the PNG Orchids squad were members of the team which won the silver medal at the Pacific Games in Samoa in July.

The PNG Kumuls 9s (in alphabetical order) is:
1. Stargroth Amean – Barrow Raiders
2. Watson Boas – Barrow Raiders
3. Edwin Epape – Wynnum Manly
4. Edene Gabbie – Wynnum Manly
5. Lachlan Lam – Sydney Roosters
6. Kyle Laybutt – Townsville Blackhawks
7. Bernard Lewis – Sydney Roosters
8. Garry Lo – PNG Hunters
9. Rhyse Martin – Leeds Rhinos
10. Justin Olam – Melbourne Storm
11. Nixon Putt – North Devils
12. Daniel Russell – Nth Qld Cowboys
13. James Segeyaro – Brisbane Broncos
14. Jedudiah Simbiken – Redcliffe Dolphins
15. Stanford Talita – Hela Wigmen
16. Terry Wapi – PNG Hunters

Coach: Michael Marum

PNG Orchids star Elsie Albert.
PNG Orchids star Elsie Albert. ©Gregg Porteous/NRL Photos

The Oil Search PNG Orchids 9s (in alphabetical order) is:
1. Elsie Albert – UNRE Cowgirls – NGI
2. Catherine Anjo – Hohola Flies – Southern
3. Heather Ario – Gabutu Dragons – Southern
4. Lekiellia Brown – Wentworthville Magpies – NSW
5. Shae-Yvonne Dela-Cruz – Easts Tigers – Brisbane Qld
6. Carol Francis – Gabutu Dragons – Southern
7. Shirley Joe – Eriku Panthers – Northern
8. Janet Johns – Hanuabada Hawks – Southern
9. Roswita Kapo – Paga Panthers – Southern
10. Sera Koroi – Goodna Eagles – Qld
11. Ua Ravu – Leeton Greens – NSW
12. Jacobeth Wake – Royas Ramu League – Northern
13. Joyce Waula – Blackswan Royals – Southern
14. Veronica Waula – Royals Rugby League – Southern
15. Angelo Watego – Capalaba Warriors – Qld
16. Josephine Wong – Nightcliff Dragons – Darwin, NT

Coach: Bagelo Solien

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners