You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Dominant dozen: Broncos rewarded for NRLW success with Maroons selections

Brisbane's NRLW dominance has been rewarded with a record-equalling 12 players included in Queensland's squad for women's State of Origin on November 13.

Nine players are in line to make their Origin debut, including Broncos contingent Tamika Upton, Tarryn Aiken, Lauren Brown, Shannon Mato, Chante Temara, Shenae Ciesiolka and Julia Robinson, who missed last year's interstate clash with a broken leg.

The selections of Upton and Aiken will give the Maroons an edge leading into the Sunshine Coast event with the pair in red-hot form throughout the Broncos' NRLW campaign.

Warriors pair Brianna Clark and Shaniah Power have also been rewarded for their efforts this season to be included in the squad.

Dally M medallist Ali Brigginshaw is among the nine incumbents to be retained from the 2019 campaign with goal-kicking whiz Meg Ward and Chelsea Baker the only notable selection omissions.

Match Highlights: Broncos v Roosters

Dragons veteran Stephanie Hancock is expected to start up front alongside Chelsea Lenarduzzi with Mato rewarded for her form in the Broncos side.

Maroons incumbents Brittany Breayley and Rona Peters, who missed the latest NRLW competition due to family and work commitments, have been included in the squad after taking part in the Holcim Cup in July.

Chante Temara, the younger sister of Zahara, has been elevated to the senior squad after playing for the Maroons under 18s side last season.

Chelsea Lenarduzzi scores for the Broncos in the NRLW decider.
Chelsea Lenarduzzi scores for the Broncos in the NRLW decider. ©Grant Trouville/NRL Photos

The Maroons won't have the services of Roosters star Charlotte Caslick, who understands was cleared to play in the match by Rugby Australia, only to be ruled out days later with a back injury.

Another rugby sevens star, Warriors centre Evania Pelite, was also left out of the squad as she turns her attention to the Tokyo Olympics in 2021.

Queensland are vying for their first Origin title in five years after drawing level with NSW in 2015 before surrendering the last four matches between the two states.

Their latest loss – a 14-4 defeat at North Sydney Oval – came in front of a pro-NSW crowd of 10,151 in June last year.

The NRL announced Queensland will host the event on the Sunshine Coast for the first time in three years after NSW hosted matches in Sydney and Wollongong.

Under current biosecurity and border restrictions in Queensland, players from both states who played for NRLW clubs based in NSW this year will be required to spend 14 days in quarantine ahead of the game.

NSW are expected to name their extended squad to make the two-and-a-half-week commitment ahead of the game later this week.

Classy fullback Sam Bremner confirmed to Fox League on Sunday she won't be part of the NSW's campaign this season due to the travel requirements in a blow for the defending champions.

Brigginshaw the master as Harden scores untouched

Queensland squad 

  • Tarryn Aiken (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Annette Brander (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Brittany Breayley
  • Ali Brigginshaw (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Karina Brown (Warriors)
  • Lauren Brown (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Shenae Ciesiolka (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Brianna Clark (Warriors)
  • Jessika Elliston (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Tazmin Gray (Warriors)
  • Steph Hancock (St George Illawarra Dragons)
  • Tallisha Harden (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Chelsea Lenarduzzi (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Shannon Mato (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Rona Peters
  • Shaniah Power (Warriors)
  • Julia Robinson (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Chante Temara (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Zahara Temara (Sydney Roosters)
  • Tamika Upton (Brisbane Broncos)
Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners