You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Kangaroos Merit Team: Cordner omitted in fans' squad

The fans have had their say on the Gallagher Kangaroos Merit Team and they've given the national selectors a ringing endorsement.

After more than votes on's poll and 16 of the 17 players who made the official team announced on Monday have also been selected by the fans.

The solitary difference was a big one - the fans did not select incumbent skipper Boyd Cordner with his Roosters teammate Angus Crichton, who was picked on the bench in the official squad, getting the other spot in the second row alongside Melbourne's Felise Kaufusi.

Manly forward Jake Trbojevic was the new face in the fan-voted squad, getting the lock's jersey to relegate Cameron Murray to the bench.

The only other variation in the fans squad was Brisbane star Payne Haas chosen to start at prop with Storm front-rower Christian Welch on the interchange, switching places from the official squad.

In the backs, the fan-voted line-up mirrored the national selection panel's choices with Nathan Cleary again getting the nod ahead of Daly Cherry-Evans to be halfback.

One lucky entrant who selected a team will win a Kangaroos jersey signed by coach Mal Meninga. The winner will be announced early in 2021.

Full competition terms and conditions.

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners