You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The NRL today confirmed the match officials for the second Ampol State of Origin match, at Suncorp Stadium, on Sunday, June 27.

The same group which officiated the opening Ampol State of Origin match will take charge of the second match in the series.

The appointment means Gerard Sutton will referee his 21st consecutive Origin match.

“The first Origin game was officiated extremely well so it stands to reason we maintain that consistency and experience into the second game,” NRL General Manager – Elite Officiating Jared Maxwell said.

In an historic move, the Ampol Women’s State of Origin match will be officiated by an all-female on-field team.

The match, at Sunshine Coast Stadium on Friday, June 25, will be the first occasion an all-female on-field team has officiated in an elite NRL, NRLW or Origin fixture.

Belinda Sharpe has been appointed to referee the match, while Kailey Beattie and Karra-Lee Nolan will be touch judges.

“This is a fantastic result for the game and testament to the strong pathways of female officiating,” Maxwell said.

“We have some fantastic female officials being developed and to see Kailey and Karra-Lee join Belinda from their respective state leagues will be a significant step forward for women’s officiating in general.

“One of our key focusses has been the creation of genuine pathways for our female officials and it has been a strong growth area for us.

“Belinda is experienced at this level and no doubt in part responsible for the increasing numbers of female officials being developed.

“All three of these exceptional officials deserve to officiate at the highest level.”


Match officials for the second Ampol State of Origin match:

Referee: Gerard Sutton

Review Official: Ashley Klein

Touch Judges: Todd Smith and Phil Henderson

Standby Referee: Grant Atkins

Standby Touch Judge: David Munro


Match officials for the Ampol Women’s State of Origin match:

Referee: Belinda Sharpe

Review Official: Alan Shortall

Touch Judges: Kailey Beattie and Karra-Lee Nolan

Standby: Tyson Brough


Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners