You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Hunt awarded 2021 Dragons Medal

St George Illawarra captain Ben Hunt has been named as the Dragons' Player of the Year medallist for the first time.

A broken arm and leg restricted Hunt to 15 games throughout the 2021 season but did not prevent him from achieving St George lllawarra's highest honour as the club's most influential player throughout the year.

The Dragons Medal was among three football-related awards presented at the team's Brisbane accommodation.

The Geoff Selby Memorial Trophy, now awarded to the best emerging talent at the Dragons in any given season in honour of former player Selby who tragically passed away in 1989, was presented to Talatau Amone.

Amone made the jump to the NRL just one week after the Illawarra Steelers' Under-19s SG Ball grand final appearance and finished his maiden first grade campaign with 11 games and three tries to his name.

Amone scores in his second game of NRL
Amone scores in his second game of NRL

Veteran hooker and vice-captain Andrew McCullough was named as the Immortals Trophy recipient following his first season at the Dragons.

McCullough was selected by the coaching staff in consideration of the Immortals criteria: demonstrating outstanding commitment and dedication in all aspects of rugby league.

McCullough was a workhorse for the Dragons making 1,010 tackles (2nd most in the NRL)
McCullough was a workhorse for the Dragons making 1,010 tackles (2nd most in the NRL)

Coach Anthony Griffin, general manager of football Ben Haran and assistant coach Mat Head also paid tribute to the seven departing players in attendance.

The Community Involvement Award was not awarded in 2021 due to players being unable to go above and beyond as a result of NRL Covid-19 protocols.

Prior to the implementation of protocols, our entire playing squad's community commitments were evenly spread across 648 hours of engagements.

The Red V Members' Player of the Year as well as the awards pertinent to the Dragons' 2021 NRL Telstra Women's Premiership campaign will be named at a later date.

Dragons Player of the Year Medal recipients:

2021: Ben Hunt
2020: Cameron McInnes and Shaylee Bent
2019: Cameron McInnes and Jessica Sergis
2018: Tariq Sims and Holli Wheeler
2017: Gareth Widdop
2016: Tyson Frizell
2015: Leeson Ah Mau
2014: Ben Creagh
2013: Trent Merrin
2012: Brett Morris
2011: Jason Nightingale
2010: Ben Creagh
2009: Ben Creagh 
2008: Jason Ryles
2007: Ben Creagh
2006: Mark Gasnier and Jason Ryles
2005: Luke Bailey
2004: Mathew Head
2003: Ben Hornby
2002: Shaun Timmins
2001: Jason Ryles
2000: Trent Barrett
1999: Jamie Ainscough

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners