You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles fullback Tom Trbojevic has capped a spectacular 2021 season by being crowned the 2021 Dally M Medal winner in Brisbane.

In a ceremony held in Brisbane for the first time ever, Trbojevic became the first Sea Eagles player to win the coveted award since Matt Orford won in 2008.

The Sea Eagles star polled 35 points, ahead of Penrith Panthers halfback Nathan Cleary (30), and Cody Walker (29). Trbojevic’s teammate Daly Cherry-Evans and Sydney Roosters fullback James Tedesco (both 23) rounded out the top five.

Trbojevic’s ascension to the medal was complete in Round 24, when he polled three points against the Bulldogs. Remarkably, he polled three points in 11 matches in 2021.

This year’s Dally M Awards once again featured a full 13-man team as its Team of the Year.

Grand finalists Penrith Panthers dominated the Team of the Year, with six members crowned – prop James Fisher-Harris, second-rower Viliame Kikau, lock Isaah Yeo, winger Brian To’o and centre Matt Burton joining Cleary at halfback.

Melbourne Storm’s remarkable season was celebrated with a number of landmark achievements - Craig Bellamy won Dally M Coach of the Year, while the 19-match winning streak – which equalled the efforts of the 1975 Roosters team – was named the Peter Frilingos Headline Moment, alongside Justin Olam (Centre of the Year) and Brandon Smith (Hooker of the Year).

Retiring Sydney Roosters centre Josh Morris was given the honour of winning the Provan-Summons Medal – the Spirit of the Game award – after the emotional embrace with his twin brother Brett following Brett’s season-ending injury in Round 8.

Sydney Roosters fullback James Tedesco was awarded Captain of the Year, while teammate Sam Walker was rewarded for a stellar season with Rookie of the Year honours.

“On behalf of the game, congratulations to Tom Trbojevic on winning rugby league’s highest individual honour,’’ NRL Chief Executive Andrew Abdo said.

“It’s a remarkable achievement in a remarkable year to poll 3 points in 11 different games.

“Congratulations to every winner. Tonight we reflected on the people and moments of the season. The players. The coaches. The teamwork. The deep tribalism. The unmatched athleticism. The unforgettable moments of brilliance.”

The full list of winners is:

Dally M Player of the Year – Tom Trbojevic – Manly Warringah Sea Eagles

Prop – Payne Haas – Brisbane Broncos

Prop – James Fisher-Harris – Penrith Panthers

Second Row – Viliame Kikau – Penrith Panthers

Second Row – Isaiah Papali’i – Parramatta Eels

Lock – Isaah Yeo – Penrith Panthers

Winger – Brian To’o – Penrith Panthers

Winger – Reuben Garrick – Manly Warringah Sea Eagles

Centre – Matt Burton – Penrith Panthers

Centre – Justin Olam – Melbourne Storm

Five-Eighth – Cody Walker – South Sydney Rabbitohs

Halfback – Nathan Cleary – Penrith Panthers

Hooker – Brandon Smith – Melbourne Storm

Fullback – Tom Trbojevic – Manly Warringah Sea Eagles

Rookie of the Year – Sam Walker – Sydney Roosters

Captain of the Year – James Tedesco – Sydney Roosters

Coach of the Year – Craig Bellamy – Melbourne Storm

Top Points Scorer – Reuben Garrick – Manly Warringah Sea Eagles

Top Try Scorer (Ken Irvine Medal) – Alex Johnston – South Sydney Rabbitohs

Peter Frilingos Headline Moment: Melbourne Storm’s 19-match winning streak

Provan-Summons – Josh Morris – Sydney Roosters

DrinkWise Try of the Year: Tom Trbojevic (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)

YOUI Tackle of the Year: Xavier Coates (Brisbane Broncos)

VB Hardest Working Player of the Year: Isaiah Papali’i (Parramatta Eels)

Dally M Medal Honour Roll:

2021: Tom Trbojevic (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)

2020: Jack Wighton (Canberra Raiders)

2019: James Tedesco (Sydney Roosters)

2018: Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Warriors)

2017: Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)

2016: Cooper Cronk (Melbourne Storm) and Jason Taumololo (North Queensland Cowboys)

2015: Johnathan Thurston (North Qld Cowboys)
2014: Johnathan Thurston (North Qld Cowboys) and Jarryd Hayne (Parramatta Eels)
2013: Cooper Cronk (Melbourne Storm)
2012: Ben Barba (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
2011: Billy Slater (Melbourne Storm)
2010: Todd Carney (Sydney Roosters)
2009: Jarryd Hayne (Parramatta Eels)
2008: Matt Orford (Manly Sea Eagles)
2007: Johnathan Thurston (North Qld Cowboys)
2006: Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)
2005: Johnathan Thurston (North Qld Cowboys)
2004: Danny Buderus (Newcastle Knights)
2003: Not awarded
2002: Andrew Johns (Newcastle Knights)
2001: Preston Campbell (Cronulla Sharks)
2000: Trent Barrett (St George Illawarra Dragons)
1999: Andrew Johns (Newcastle Knights)
1998: Andrew Johns (Newcastle Knights)
1997: Not awarded
1996: Allan Langer (Brisbane Broncos)
1995: Laurie Daley (Canberra Raiders)
1994: Cliff Lyons (Manly Sea Eagles)
1993: Ricky Stuart (Canberra Raiders)
1992: Gary Freeman (Eastern Suburbs Roosters)
1991: Michael Potter (St George Dragons)
1990: Cliff Lyons (Manly Sea Eagles)
1989: Gavin Miller (Cronulla Sharks)
1988: Gavin Miller (Cronulla Sharks)
1987: Peter Sterling (Parramatta Eels)
1986: Peter Sterling (Parramatta Eels)
1985: Greg Alexander (Penrith Panthers)
1984: Michael Potter (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
1983: Terry Lamb (Western Suburbs Magpies)
1982: Ray Price (Parramatta Eels)
1981: Steve Rogers (Cronulla Sharks)
1980: Robert Laurie (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

1979: Steve Morris (St George Dragons)


Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners