You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Everything you need to know: Women's Origin 2023

The first of two games for the sixth edition of Ampol Women's State of Origin kicks off on Thursday night with NSW and Queensland to battle it out across a history-making home and away series. 

NSW go into the two-game series as reigning champions but have a fight on their hands with the Maroons looking to reclaim the shield after going down to the Sky Blues in Canberra last year.

Here's everything you need to know ahead of the interstate clashes.

What's changed for women's Origin in 2023?

For the first time since Origin was made official in 2018, there will be two games this year with both the Sky Blues and Maroons hosting a match each on home turf. 

When and where are the games being played?

The opening game of Ampol Women's State of Origin clash kicks off in Sydney on June 1 at CommBank Stadium. Kick off is at 7:45pm AEST. 

Attention will then turn to Townsville for Game Two at Queensland Country Bank Stadium on June 22. 

Origin I schedule - CommBank Stadium June 1

  • 5:15pm: Gates open
  • 5:45pm: Kick Off – RISE Rookie Match (Blue v Navy)
  • 7:15pm: Pre-game entertainment
  • 7:45pm: Women's State of Origin kick-off

Origin II schedule - Queensland Country Bank Stadium June 22

  • 5:15pm: Gates open
  • 5:45pm: Kick Off – RISE Rookie Match (Maroon v Silver)
  • 7:20pm; Pre-game entertainment
  • 7:45pm: Women's State of Origin kick-off
  • 9:30pm: Presentation ceremony

What happens if the series ends in a 1-1 draw?

The NRL has confirmed a possible 1-1 series draw in Ampol Women's State of Origin will see the winner decided by points aggregate in 2023. 

How long do the matches go for?

Women's State of Origin matches are played for 70 minutes, split into 35-minute halves. Extra time will apply if scores are level after 70 minutes. Golden point will apply if scores are level after extra time.

Where can I buy tickets?

Tickets for Game One are available through Ticketek while tickets for Game Two in Townsville can be purchased via Ticketmaster. Both can be accessed at

Take advantage of up to four children under the age of 15 entering free with a paying adult.

Corporate hospitality options are also available at

Where can I watch?

If you can't get to the game, both matches will be shown across multiple broadcasters.

  • Nine (Brisbane/Sydney) GEM (Melbourne/Adelaide/Perth)
  • Foxtel – Fox League (nationally)
  • Sky Sport 4 (New Zealand)
  • Kayo
  • 9Now

International coverage:

  • Watch NRL: Not available in Australia, New Zealand or Pacific Regions
  • Fox US (FS2)
  • Sky UK (Sky Sports Mix & Sky Sports Arena)
  • Fox Sports Asia
  • TVWAN Action (Papua New Guinea)
  • BeIN Sports (France)
  • Fox Netherlands
  • ESPN Africa
  • Rogers (Canada)
  • Sport24 (Worldwide In-Flight/In-Ship – excluding Australia, New Zealand or Pacific Regions)

What is the history behind women's State of Origin?

Interstate rivalry between New South Wales and Queensland began in 1999 but wasn't officially called State of Origin until 2018.

The standalone event consists of just one game for the women to chase bragging rights and claim the women's Origin shield.

NSW won the first two official Origin games in 2018 and 2019 at North Sydney Oval before Queensland returned serve in 2020 and 2021 with victories on the Sunshine Coast. 

In 2023, the Origin rivalry is set to expand to a two-game series.

What are the recent results between the two states?

NSW are the current champions after beating Queensland 20-14 at GIO Stadium in 2022. Previously, both states won two titles each.

  • 2022: NSW 20 defeated Queensland 14 at GIO Stadium
  • 2021: Queensland 8 defeated NSW 6 at Sunshine Coast Stadium
  • 2020: Queensland 24 defeated NSW 18 at Sunshine Coast Stadium
  • 2019: NSW 14 defeated Queensland 4 at Sunshine Coast Stadium
  • 2018: NSW 16 defeated Queensland 10 at Sunshine Coast Stadium

What is the player of the match awarded?

The player of the match receives the Nellie Doherty medal.

Nellie Doherty was a former player and pioneer from NSW and in 1921 helped launch women's rugby league in Australia.

Previously, both states played for the Nellie Doherty Cup until the Origin shield was introduced in 2018. The shield has no official name.

Previous winners of the Nellie Doherty medal include Isabelle Kelly (2018 and 2022), Maddie Studdon (2019) and Queenslanders Tazmin Gray (2021) and Tarryn Aiken (2020).

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners