You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

International Rugby League

Rapid growth in women's rugby league and an ever-increasing talent pool has seen a positive rise in the international game over the past decade.

New Zealand held the mantra of being the world's best team for more than 20 years until Australia broke their World Cup drought in 2013.

The Jillaroos are now the benchmark for other nations to aspire to following World Cup victory in 2017.

In 2019, Fiji Bulikula entered the Test match arena in style with an impressive 28-0 win over Papua New Guinea, who were also more exposed to international fixtures in 2019 with two Tests against England.

In Europe, international sides like England and France continue to improve with more exposure to the game, while Canada and Brazil are set for further development leading into the rescheduled 2021 World Cup.

In January, 2022, the IRL announced the 2025 World Cup will be hosted in France with the women's tournament to extend to 16 nations.

Current international rankings

  1. Australia
  2. New Zealand
  3. England
  4. Papua New Guinea
  5. France
  6. Canada
  7. Serbia
  8. Italy
  9. Fiji
  10. Turkey
  11. Samoa
  12. Cook Islands
  13. Wales
  14. Ireland
  15. Brazil
  16. Greece
  17. Lebanon

Golden Boot winners

The Rugby League International Federation announced the prestigious golden boot award would be introduced to the women's game in 2018.

The award recognises the best player in the international game for that calendar year. 

Note: No golden boot awards were announced in 2020 or 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Year Player Country
2019 Jessica Sergis Australia
2018 Isabelle Kelly Australia