You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content


The NRLW Nines is a fast-paced tournament played in the pre-season alongside the men's competition.

A minimum squad of 16 players per NRLW club feature in the nine-a-side event with nine-minute halves delivering high quality play. 

The men's NRL Nines were re-introduced in 2020 after a three-year absence, while previously New Zealand held tournaments at Auckland's Eden Park across four years.

Women's NRLW clubs were introduced to the format in February 2020, in conjunction with their licence into the NRLW Premiership in 2018.

Previously, the Australian Jillaroos and New Zealand Kiwi Ferns battled in a three-game series in Auckland.

No tournaments will take place in 2022.


Year Winners Runners-up Location Player of the Tournament
2020 St George Illawarra Dragons Brisbane Broncos HBF Park, Perth Maddison Studdon (Dragons)
Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners