You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Women’s State of Origin

Tough. Uncompromising. Competitive. This is Origin.

When it comes to exhilarating moments in sport, few can go past the spectacle that is State of Origin.

Interstate rivalry between New South Wales and Queensland began in 1999 but wasn't officially called State of Origin until 2018.

The standalone event consists of just one game for the women to chase bragging rights and claim the women's Origin shield.

The shield replaced the Nellie Doherty Cup in 2018 with the player of the match recipient now receiving the Nellie Doherty medal.

Nellie Doherty was a former player and pioneer from NSW and in 1921 helped launch women's rugby league in Australia.

NSW are the current State of Origin champions after reclaiming the shield with a 20-14 victory over Queensland in Canberra on June 24.

In 2023, the Origin event is set to expand to a two-game series.

Year Winners Score Venue Nellie Doherty Medal
2022 NSW 20-14 GIO Stadium, Canberra Isabelle Kelly (NSW)
2021 Queensland 8-6 Sunshine Coast Stadium Tazmin Gray (Queensland)
2020 Queensland 24-18 Sunshine Coast Stadium Tarryn Aiken (Queensland)
2019 NSW 14-4 North Sydney Oval Maddie Studdon (NSW)
2018 NSW 16-10 North Sydney Oval Isabelle Kelly (NSW)
Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners