You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

World Cups

The Rugby League World Cup is the pinnacle of the women's game with international teams coming together for the chance to be crowned champions of the world.

There have been five World Cups in women's history, starting in 2000, with the United Kingdom, New Zealand and Australia hosting previous events.

New Zealand are three-time champions after World Cup victories in 2000, 2005 and 2008.

Australia has held a recent dominance during the past decade to confirm their status as the best rugby league team in the world with World Cup success in 2013 and 2017.

Outside of Australia and New Zealand, only Great Britain (2000) and New Zealand Māori (2005) have reached a final.

In 2022, the women's World Cup will be played in England with eight teams set to take part in the event.

In January, 2022, the IRL announced the 2025 World Cup will be hosted in France with the women's tournament to extend to 16 nations.

World Cup results 

Year Champions Runners-up Score Location
2017 Australia New Zealand 23-16 Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
2013 Australia New Zealand 22-12 Headingley, Leeds
2008 New Zealand Australia 34-0 Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
2003 New Zealand NZ Maori 58-0 Eden Park, New Zealand
2000 New Zealand Great Britain 26-4 Sunshine Coast, Queensland

World Cup 9s

The international World Cup 9s was introduced in 2019 with four nations competing in the women's tournament. 

Australia, New Zealand, England and Papua New Guinea competed in western Sydney for the two-day event.

The Kiwi Ferns were crowned inaugural world 9s champions after upsetting Australia, who went undefeated during the pool stages only to be beaten in the final.

Year Champions Runners-up Score Location Player of the Tournament
2019 New Zealand Australia 17-15 Bankwest Stadium, Sydney Raecene McGregor (NZ)