You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
North Queensland Cowboys skipper Johnathan Thurston and Parramatta Eels captain Jarryd Hayne are joint winners of the 2014 Dally M Player of the Year Award after the most thrilling countdown in the award's history.

It is the first time that the Dally M Player of the Year award has had joint winners and as it is Thurston's third Dally M Player of the Year award it cements his position as one of the greats of the game.

Only Newcastle great Andrew Johns has won three Dally M awards previously, with Thurston's previous wins coming in 2005 and 2007.

Thurston was also named Five-Eighth of the Year and won the Provan Summons People's Choice Medal as the best player in the NRL as voted by rugby league fans.

In addition, he was the Top Points-Scorer of the year with 208 – one ahead of James Maloney from the Sydney Roosters.  

For Jarryd Hayne, it is his second Dally M Player of the Year award following his win in 2009 and he was also a multiple award winner on the night, also claiming the Fullback of the Year and Best Representative Player gongs.

Hayne was also the Top Try-Scorer with 20 four-pointers – one ahead of Parramatta Eels teammate Semi Radradra.

Dally M Award winners

Dally M Player of the Year: Jarryd Hayne (Parramatta Eels) and Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys)

Captain of the Year: Jamie Lyon (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)

Coach of the Year: Ivan Cleary (Penrith Panthers)

Peter Moore Award for Rookie of the Year: Luke Brooks (Wests Tigers)

Best Representative Player: Jarryd Hayne (Parramatta Eels)

Fullback of the Year: Jarryd Hayne  (Parramatta Eels)

Winger of the Year: Semi Radradra (Parramatta Eels)

Centre of the Year: Jamie Lyon (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)

Five-Eighth of the Year: Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys)

Halfback of the Year: Daly Cherry-Evans  (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)

Lock Forward of the Year: Sam Burgess (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

Second-Rower of the Year: Beau Scott (Newcastle Knights)

Front-Rower of the Year: James Graham (Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs)

Hooker of the Year: James Segeyaro (Penrith Panthers)

Top Points-Scorer: Johnathan Thurston, 208 points  (North Queensland Cowboys)

Top Try-Scorer: Jarryd Hayne, 20 tries (Parramatta Eels)

Holden Cup Under 20s Player of the Year: Kane Elgey (Gold Coast Titans) 

Provan Summons People's Choice Medal: Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys)

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners