You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Four of Rugby League’s finest players have been chosen to join the NRL Hall of Fame.

The four players to join the 2019 Hall of Fame Class are: 

  • Craig Young
  • Stacey Jones
  • Ruben Wiki
  • Danny Buderus

A voting college representing a cross section of the game selected their top five players to be included in the exclusive Hall of Fame club. The four players were selected through an independent audit of the votes.

All four players will formally join the Hall of Fame in a ceremony in Sydney tomorrow evening (Wednesday, 14 August). 

NRL Chief Executive Todd Greenberg said the four inductees were all worthy recipients of the honour.

“All four of our player inductees will stand proudly alongside the 106 players who they will join in the Hall of Fame,” Mr Greenberg said.

“These are some of the best players of their generations, and they will now join the best of the best.

“They each dominated their respective eras and commanded enormous respect. They still do.

“This year’s Hall of Fame class is an exceptional one. We will be recognising greatness when our latest Class are formally inducted.”

Senior Manager of NRL Awards, Frank Puletua, said the induction ceremony, tomorrow night (Wednesday, August 14) would be one of the most important nights on the calendar.

“This year, we will be acknowledging our contributors as well as our players,” Mr Puletua said.

“The Hall of Fame induction has become an incredibly important night for the game as we take the opportunity to reflect on our pioneers and our finest players.

“All four of our player inductees can now forever be known as Hall of Famers, and that only adds to their standing in the game.”

Three contributors – one each from Administration, Broadcast Media and Print Media – will be announced tomorrow ahead of the formal induction.

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners