You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Although Irvine possessed lightning speed he also had great skill in attack and was a noted cover defender. The image shows his ability to get a flick pass away to team-mate, Col Greenwood.

On this day, Newtown Jets create history; the Bears announce their team of the century; and three players announce their retirements.


Newtown Jets rewrite the record books with a 55-7 demolition of the St George Dragons in a semi-final. It remains a record-winning margin in a finals series match.

Roosters forward Luke Ricketson
Roosters forward Luke Ricketson ©NRL Photos


Sydney Roosters captain Luke Ricketson plays his 300th first grade game as the Roosters upset the Broncos 17-10, and after he's announced that 2005 will be his last season.


North Sydney announce their Team of the Century at a function at North Sydney Leagues Club. The team named was: Brian Carlson; Harold Horder, Jim Devereux, Greg Florimo, Ken Irvine; Tim Pickup, Duncan Thompson; Peter Diversi, Mark Graham, David Fairleigh, Billy Wilson, Ross Warner, Gary Larson. Reserves: Sid Deane, Ken McCaffery, John Gray, Billy Moore. Coach: Chris McKivat.


Young Manly five-eighth Kieran Foran declares his interest in representing the land of his birth, New Zealand, despite having already represented Australian Schoolboys and NSW Under-17s.

Kiwis half Kieran Foran
Kiwis half Kieran Foran ©NRL Photos


Parramatta are confirmed as wooden-spooners for the first time since 1972 after they are trounced 38-6 by Souths at ANZ Stadium.


On this day three players announced they would be finishing up at the end of the season: Dragons Brad Mackay (in 1999), Bulldogs Brett Kimmorley (2010), Broncos Scott Prince (2013).


This article contains information from the official records of NRL historian David Middleton.