You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

NRLW Premiership

The NRL Telstra Women's Premiership is an elite competition that features the world's best female rugby league players. 

Six clubs – Brisbane Broncos, Sydney Roosters, St George Illawarra Dragons, Newcastle Knights, Parramatta Eels and the Gold Coast Titans – will take part in the 2021 competition after expansion was confirmed in June. 

However, due to the COVID-19 pandemic in Australia, the start date for the competition has been postponed. 

International and representative players will be recruited by clubs under a centralised and free agency system. 

The Broncos are the reigning champions with three premierships in three seasons. 

Key summary to the NRL Telstra Women's Premiership

  • Squads of 24
  • Duration of matches: 70 minutes of regular time (two 35 minute halves)
  • Interchanges: a total of 10 in regular time (with two interchanges available in the case of golden point)
  • 40/30 and 20/50 kick advantage: providing for tactical kicking and unpredictability during matches
  • One on-field referee and the NRL Bunker in use
  • Injury Surveillance, including the management of head injuries and/or concussion.
  • Judiciary procedures
  • Shot clocks

Golden point

For matches other than the grand final, in the event of a draw at the conclusion of regular time, golden point will apply, with a maximum of five minutes each way and the first team to score will win.

If neither team scores during golden point, a draw will be awarded.

In the case of a requirement for golden point in the grand final, five minutes extra time each way will be played (regardless of how many points are scored).

If, after 80 minutes, the game remains a draw, unlimited golden point will be played, with no change of ends or time limit, until a point is scored to determine the winner.


List of premiership winners

Year Premiers Runners-up
2020 Brisbane Broncos Sydney Roosters
2019 Brisbane Broncos St George Illawarra Dragons
2018 Brisbane Broncos Sydney Roosters

Karyn Murphy medal winners 

The Karyn Murphy medal is awarded to the player of the NRL Telstra Women's Premiership grand final. 

Year Name Club
2020 Amber Hall Brisbane Broncos
2019 Annette Brander Brisbane Broncos
2018 Kimiora Nati Brisbane Broncos

Dally M medal winners 

The Dally M medal is awarded to the player of the NRL Telstra Women's Premiership based on a 3-2-1 voting system throughout the season. 

Year Name Club
2020 Ali Brigginshaw Brisbane Broncos
2019 Jessica Sergis St George Illawarra Dragons
2018 Brittany Breayley Brisbane Broncos
2017 Simaima Taufa Jillaroos*
2016 Kezie Apps Jillaroos*
2015 Jenni-Sue Hoepper Jillaroos*

* Prior to the NRL Telstra Women's Premiership starting in 2018, three Dally M medal winners were awarded based on their efforts at the international level in those years.

Veronica White medal winners

The Veronica White medal recognises the incredible contributions that so many female rugby league players are making to their local communities and beyond and is voted by a panel of experts from across the game.

The medal is awarded on grand final day each year with nominees announced prior in the lead-up to the match.

Year Name Club
2020 Georgia Hale Warriors 
2019 Honey Hireme-Smiler Warriors