You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The NRL has congratulated this year’s Community Award winners, with the game celebrating their achievements over the past month.

Eight award winners were announced, including the Ken Stephen and inaugural Veronica White Medallists – Sia Soliola and Honey Hireme.

NRL Head of Government and Community Relations, Jaymes Boland-Rudder said the awards had taken a different approach in the past two years, with the NRL travelling to local communities to announce winners in front of family and friends.

“The Community Awards are about recognising and celebrating some of the game’s biggest supporters and it’s been great to present these awards to winners, often as a surprise, in front of those who they have had the most impact on,” Mr Boland-Rudder said.

“There are so many unsung heroes out there that put their love of the game and their will to see others included first.  It’s a privilege to unveil a few of these men and women each year as part of these awards and I thank the many more for what they do to ensure rugby league thrives at all levels and across communities.”

The 2019 NRL Community Award winners are:

Volunteer of the Year, proudly supported by ClubsNSW: Bevan Owens, Normanton Stingers Rugby League Club

Award vision, click here.

Grassroots Clubs of the Year, proudly supported by Youi Insurance: Tathra Sea Eagles

Award vision, click here.

Teacher of the Year, proudly supported by Accor Hotels: Daniel Thomas, Lysterfield Primary School

Award vision, click here.

Women in League, proudly supported by Harvey Norman: Bianca Johnston, Muswellbrook Junior Rugby League Club

Award vision, click here.

Young Person of the Year, proudly supported by Statim Yaga – a Hutchinson Builders initiative: Holly Summers

Award vision, click here.

NRL Community Program of the Year, proudly supported by the NRL: Cowboys House

Award vision, click here.

Ken Stephen Medallist, proudly supported by One Solutions: Sia Soliola, Canberra Raiders

Award vision, click here.

Veronica White Medallist: Honey Hireme, New Zealand Warriors

Award vision, click here.

For background on each award winner (excluding the Ken Stephen and Veronica White Medallists), click here.

For a single vision package of all winners (excluding the Ken Stephen and Veronica White Medallists), click here.

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners