Ken Stephen Medal 2018

Nominations for the 2018 NRL Community Awards have now closed! Please visit again in mid-2019 to submit your nominations for next year's Awards.

Ken Stephen Medal

The Ken Stephen Medal recognises the efforts of an NRL player who has not only achieved on the field, but has also committed time off the field to community projects.

A player is nominated by their club for their involvement in charity work, youth development or community support. The nominated player will have consistently demonstrated their commitment to making a difference in their community and be seen as a role model in this area at their club.

This year is the thirtieth instance that the Ken Stephen Medal has been awarded. There have been of host of worthy recipients of this prestigious award since 1988, winners over the past 10 years include:

2017 Sam Tagataese (Sharks)
2016 Joel Thompson (Dragons)
2015 Luke Douglas (Titans)
2014 Trent Hodkinson (Bulldogs)
2013 Terry Campese (Raiders)
2012 Jonathan Thurston (Cowboys)
2011 Sam Thaiday (Broncos)
2010 Andrew Ryan (Bulldogs)
2009 Nathan Hindmarsh (Eels)
2008 Preston Campbell (Titans)
2007 Ruben Wiki (Warriors)

This year's winner will be announced at the 2018 Dally M Awards, and celebrated on-field during the 2018 NRL Telstra Premiership Grand Final

This year's nominees

Follow the links to learn more about the incredible work that each nominee has carried out. Make sure to regularly visit this page as more unsung heroes are showcased and celebrated: