ARLIC Members

Consisting of 6 Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander (Indigenous) community members, along with one representative each from the CRL, NSWRL and QRL, the Australian Rugby League Indigenous Council (ARLIC) is governed by a Charter of Operations and represents the views and ideas of Indigenous peoples and acts as a sounding board for the Australian Rugby League Commission (ARLC), and the Game more broadly, in the development and revision of policies, procedures and programs.

The ARLIC also provides strategic advice as required from time to time to all key stakeholders within the Game, in line with the ARLC’s strategic plan. The ARLIC also provides strategic advice on the implementation of the RAP in its capacity as a member of the Game’s Reconciliation Action Plan Working Group.

Current ARLIC Members

  • Katrina Fanning - Chair
  • Joshua Creamer
  • Nathan Towney
  • Mal Cochrane
  • Karla Grant
  • Laurie Daley
  • Edward Monaei
  • John Anderson
  • William Johnstone

Katrina Fanning - Chair

Katrina is a Wiradjuri woman from Junee in NSW. Katrina played 24 tests for the Australian Jillaroo’s including the inaugural women’s test match against NZ in 1995 and world cups in 2000 and 2003.  She also held executive positions on the Australian Women’s Rugby League and Canberra Women’s Rugby League.  This included assisting in the preparations for the first ever Australian Indigenous Women’s representative team who played the Maori.  As a member of the ARL Indigenous Council Katrina has assisted in the development and implementation of the Reconciliation Action Plan, supporting grass roots participation and developing pathways for women’s participation in the game.

Joshua Creamer

Joshua Creamer is Wannyi and Kalkadoon. Joshua practises as a Barrister in Brisbane. His practise areas include Native Title and Mining. He is the current Chairman of Titans 4 Tomorrow and is a part owner in Regional Economic Solutions. In 2008 Joshua was awarded the Griffith University’s Rubin Hurricane Carter Award for Commitment to Social Justice. In 2009 he was an Associate to the late Honourable Justice Dutney in the Supreme Court of Queensland. In 2013, he received the Griffith University, Outstanding Arts, Education and Law, Young Alumnus of the Year Award. From 2010 to 2014 Joshua was the President of the Indigenous Lawyers Association of Queensland.

Nathan Towney

Nathan is the current Principal of Newcastle High School where he strives to create a culture of high expectations and a community of engaged learners. He promotes positive relationships across all stakeholders, effective systems and processes and distributed leadership as the foundations for success at Newcastle High School. Previously, Nathan managed the Aboriginal Education Team in South Western Sydney, creating positive partnerships with communities and external agencies and providing leadership to improve student learning outcomes across 276 schools with the NSW Department of Education.

Mal Cochrane

Mal is an Indigenous Team of the Century member who played for the Manly Warringah Sea-Eagles. Mal continues to be involved in the Game through his role on the NRL Judiciary and as Manager of the Indigenous All Stars team.  

Karla Grant

Karla has over 25 years of media experience working as a journalist, producer, director and presenter, and this year marks her 21st year at SBS.  For 14 years Karla has been the Host and Executive Producer of Australia’s award-winning and longest running Indigenous current affairs show “Living Black” on SBS & NITV.  Karla has dedicated a huge part of her career to working in Indigenous news and current affairs, witnessing and reporting on the shifts in policy and attitudes towards Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders. She is committed to giving her people a platform for highlighting their issues and educating and informing all Australians on the plight of our First People’s .

Laurie Daley

Edward Monaei

Edward is a recognised leader and respected advocate for Torres Strait Islander inclusion and progression throughout all levels of government, and works with Indigenous Councils to improve the health and well-being of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.  Edward is the current Chairperson for the Queensland Rugby League Indigenous Advisory Committee and the founder, Chief Executive Officer for the South East Queensland Mabo Steering Committee. Edward has played a significant role in the development and progression of Indigenous Rugby League in Qld and work in collaboration with key stakeholders like the Arthur Beetson Foundation to build positive pathways for Junior, Senior and Women’s Indigenous rugby league.

John Anderson

William Johnstone