You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

NRL Community Rugby League Club Of The Year


As part of the NRL Community Awards presented by Westpac, the NRL Community Rugby League Club of the Year award will be presented to a Rugby League Club that has enhanced participation and enjoyment of Rugby League within their club.

The club is recognised as an integral part of their community going above and beyond to make a positive impact in their community through Rugby League.


Prize Package:

  • The winning prize package includes a $5,000 cash prize, a 2023 NRL Grand Final VIP experience, promotion of their community work across NRL platforms and more to be announced.
  • The nominator of the winning nomination also scores themselves a $500 cash prize.



Nominations are open to all affiliated clubs across Australia. The club must meet all the requirements for affiliation with their respective Leagues.

The club must enforce the following policies:

  • Code of Conduct
  • Risk Management
  • Child Protection  


The Community Rugby League Club nominees must demonstrate NRL's beliefs that we are Inclusive, Positive, United and Disciplined. The award criteria focuses primarily on the club’s contribution for the 2023 season, demonstrated through your responses to the following questions.

You can provide your answers to the nomination questions via a written or video response. For the written responses, a minimum of 150 words and a maximum of 300 words for each nomination criteria question is required. The more detail and thought put into the nomination, the more chance of being in the running.

  1. Describe, and demonstrate with examples, how your club provides support to your local community and has become an integral part in your local community.
  2. Describe and demonstrate the impact of any innovative initiatives your club has undertaken in areas including but not limited to; introducing new players to the sport and retaining members/volunteers and the support of your members and volunteers.
  3. Please provide examples of how your club has demonstrated the NRL’s belief of we are: Inclusive, Positive, United, and Disciplined.
  4. Outline any unique challenges or obstacles that the club has overcome to ensure the health, wellbeing and connection of its members/volunteers.


If you have any questions about the awards, contact

Club of the Year Winners

2022 Winner - Narromine Jets

Community Rugby League Club of the Year 2022 Winner were the Narromine Jets!

View More

2021 Winner - Barcaldine Junior and Senior Rugby League

Community Rugby League Club of the Year 2021 Winner were the Barcaldine Junior and Senior Rugby League!

View More

2020 Winnners - Lithgow Bears

Community Rugby League Club of the Year 2021 Winner were the Lithgow Bears!

View More

2019 Winner - Tathra

Community Rugby League Club of the Year 2019 Winner were the Tathra Sea Eagles!

View more
Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.