You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

NRL Volunteer Of The Year


As part of the NRL Community Awards presented by Westpac, the NRL Volunteer of the Year will have provided exceptional service to the game and made a measurable difference in their community.

The nominee must demonstrate the NRL's beliefs of we are: Inclusive, Positive, United and Disciplined, as well as a unique contribution to their community through rugby league.


Prize Package:

  • The winning prize package includes a $5,000 cash prize, a 2023 NRL Grand Final VIP experience, promotion of their community work across NRL platforms and more to be announced.
  • The nominator of the winning nomination also scores themselves a $500 cash prize.


Nominations are open to any registered volunteer within the Rugby League community i.e., coach, teacher, referee, club official, grounds keeper, club administrator, advocate etc.

  • Registered volunteer.
  • Must not have received payment for the activities nominated for.
  • Must be of good standing in their community i.e. must not be serving any suspensions.

The nominees must have demonstrated through their volunteer work the NRL’s beliefs that we are: Inclusive, Positive, United and Disciplined. 

The award criteria’s focus is primarily on the volunteer’s contribution for 2023 season, demonstrated through your responses to the following questions:

You can provide your answers to the nomination questions via a written or video response. For the written responses, a minimum of 150 words and a maximum of 300 words for each nomination criteria question is required. The more detail and thought put into the nomination, the more chance of being in the running.

  1. What is the current role of the nominee within a rugby league context and the nature of work they undertake e.g., Coach, Referee Club Official, Club Administrator, Advocate?
  2. Please describe how the volunteer has made a significant impact in their service to the game of rugby league. Please provide examples.
  3. Please provide examples of how the volunteer has demonstrated the NRL’s beliefs of; Inclusive, Positive, United, and disciplined.
  4. Outline any unique challenges or obstacles that were overcome to participate in volunteer work.


If you have any questions about the awards, contact

2022 Volunteer of the Year Winner

Wendy Povey named 2022 NRL Volunteer of the Year!

View More

2021 Volunteer of the Year Winner

Our 2021 Volunteer of the Year Winner was Theresa Tasaico!

View More

2020 Volunteer of the Year Winner

Our 2020 Volunteer of the Year Winner was Joseph Chidiac!

Learn more

2019 Volunteer of the Year Winner

Our 2020 Volunteer of the Year Winner was Bevan Owens!

View More
Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.